Step 1: Get Engaged

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

That’s right people. You read it right.

I got engaged.

On March 26, 2017, my boyfriend proposed to me in a way that can only be attributed to us. It wasn’t anything outrageous (I’m not a fan of big, public engagement events) and nothing too fancy. Simple, quiet, and private. Just the way we like things.

We were in my room hanging out after he got back from an Ultimate Frisbee tournament that weekend. He was laying on my bed and I was plopped up against my headboard. At the time, his birthday was only 2 weeks away and he already knew what I planned on getting him. We’re not really good at keeping presents a surprise cause usually we want the other person’s opinion on things.

The conversation went a little something like this:

Him: “Hey, are you still getting me the Roshes for my birthday?”
Me: “Yeah…why?”
Him: “Because I thought of something better” *rolls off bed and onto one knee with ring* “You being my fiance.”

And after I stopped freaking out, he asked the question and the obvious answer was yes.

So now, it’s been about 2 weeks since we’ve got engaged and wedding planning is already in full swing. And I plan on documenting it every step (hopefully lol) of the way to give a little preview/sense of what I’m doing. And to also help me from going insane with confusion at all the minor details.

And for anyone who’s curious about the ring, we ordered it online from Blue Nile. We decided on online ring shopping cause it was just easier, took less time, and we didn’t have to pay any extra fees/taxes for consultation and things like that. Of course, we did our research beforehand to find a reliable site. The band design is called a “petite twist”, according to the website. It has a small diamond dotted band twisted around a white gold band. The main diamond is 0.5 carats (yes, I picked it out – I don’t really like the look of bigger diamonds), and as for the details of it like clarity, cut, etc….I have no clue haha. He picked out everything else and I’m not gonna ask for the details because like honestly, this stuff doesn’t really mean that much to me.

It’s the sentiment behind it, not the material value.

If you guys have any suggestions/recommendations, please let me know! I’m open to basically anything (within reason haha) cause I’m the first one in my group of college friends to get married so I’m kinda flying blind right now.

 

One thought on “Step 1: Get Engaged

Leave a Reply

