Urban Decay’s Razor Sharp Liquid Eyeliner

img_6515

I WAS ROOTING FOR YOU!
WE WERE ALL ROOTING FOR YOU! HOW DARE YOU!!!

No but seriously though, I had such high hopes for this product. My first ever purchase from Sephora was Urban Decay’s 24/7 Liquid Eyeliner and I loved it. Long lasting and it didn’t smudge and give me panda eyes. Granted as a makeup newbie at that time, putting it on was a pain in the butt since it was a brush applicator, but I didn’t really mind since it gave me the results I wanted. I stopped using high-end eyeliner for a while to try to find an affordable replacement, but after trying out A TON of other drugstore brands, I ultimately decided to invest and sell my soul to Sephora (hello Kat Von D).

In a moment of nostalgia and wanting to try other brands, I picked this up about 2 weeks ago to see if the formula was as good as I remembered it to be. I was actually going for the 24/7 liquid liner but I couldn’t find it for some reason so I grabbed the Razor Sharp liquid liner instead. I had no regrets shelling out $22 for this baby. I mean c’mon, it’s Urban Decay so it couldn’t be bad.

Or so I thought.

img_6514

First of all, before I start roasting it, I just have to say that the packaging on this is awesome. I got the liner in black (Perversion) so the handle section of the tube was this steel grey color and the product end was a shiny gold. Classy, sleek, elegant. But you should never judge a book by its cover.

img_6516

I mean, I was expecting a brush applicator. I was fully ready for it. But was I expecting it to be literally a millimeter in width? Heck no! Maybe since it’s been a while since I last used an Urban Decay liner but I don’t remember the brush being that skinny. Granted, the liner is suppose to be “razor sharp” but like….seriously? The applicator has little control, no stability, and is VERY unforgiving to anyone with less than perfectly steady hands. Putting this liner on took about double the amount of time as my Kat Von D liner and took WAY more effort and concentration than anyone has early in the morning. Getting your lines to be even is also a pain in the butt with this applicator. I lost count of how many times I had to wipe and start again…on a DAILY basis. Like I’m sorry. Absolutely not.

AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME.

The formula is also lacking. I mean props to them for making this eyeliner vegan but I guess in doing so, it lost a bit of that anti-smudge quality I was looking for. I definitely got a bit of panda eyes with this one and we’re talking after maybe 2-3 hours of wear. It also loves to clump while it’s on the brush and around the rim of the bottle. What do I mean by that?

Putting the product on with a brush that came straight out of the bottle is definitely putting too much on at one time. So naturally, you would lessen it by wiping the brush on the rim of the bottle. But after like the 4th day of using this, I noticed clumps of dried eyeliner were starting to form around the edge and they would transfer onto the brush. Thanks but no thanks. Taking the eyeliner off at the end of the day was also super hard and since it’s supposed to be waterproof, it comes off in flakes and gets everywhere.

Also, for $22 per liner, you really don’t get that much product.
If I toughed it out and continued to use it, I would probably need to buy a new one by now.

Messy to put on.
Messy to take off.
Unfortunately for me, this was a miss but it might not have been for you. Let me know if you’ve had similar experiences with this liner or if you like it. No judgement if you do. I’ll just probably be super jelly of your incredibly steady hands and endless patience.


Ratings
Application: 2/10
Longevity: 5/10
Effectiveness: 7/10
Price: $22
Repurchase: Definitely not
Overall: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

