Urban Decay’s Vice Liquid Lipstick

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was the definition of an impulse buy.

I initially went into Sephora to grab more eyeliner (tried Urban Decay’s Liquid Liner this time around), but let’s be real. Who goes into Sephora and doesn’t browse around?

I was fixated at the Urban Decay area and began to look around at their other products, namely their lipsticks. Now I’m more of a liquid lipstick person. Don’t get me wrong, I like the other kind too but for me, liquid lips are easier to control during application, which I love.

 

Their selection is pretty big with a wide variety of colors ranging from your basic nudes to your vampy purples. I opted for something kind of in between.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My eyes were instantly drawn to this shade called “1993“, which is coincidentally, the year I was born. It resembles Kat Von D’s Lolita in a way but it has more of a brown tone while Lolita is more pink, in the tube and on your lips. I’m not usually one for shades like this but I was diggin’ it. Like hardcore.

And of course, I couldn’t leave it behind.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Now the applicator for Urban Decay’s liquid lips actually surprised me when I first popped it open at the Sephora cause it’s slanted. I mean, I can totally see where they were going with that but quite honestly, it didn’t really help me all too much. For me personally, whether it’s slanted or not doesn’t make a difference application wise but just for aesthetics, I would rather the applicator just be straight.

The formula is a bit more runny than Kat Von D but it still goes on pretty smoothly. Though I would maybe be careful of how much you put on for the first swipe cause it does spread out a bit more once you press your lips together. And it’s also pretty sticky. I mean I’m guessing that’s what lets the color stay on your lips, but I’m not a huge fan of the stickiness. The feeling does go away a bit after a while but we’re talking like hours after application. You can speed up the process by eating something though. Another warning: this lipstick also makes your lips flake. This might be TMI but I could peel the flakes of skin coming off my lips after about 5 hours of wear.

Despite all this though, I must admit that this is way more long lasting than any of the lipsticks I own. I kid you not, I ate some greasy food the day I bought this and it stayed on the whole night. I had to rub my lips pretty hard to get it off at the end of the day.

Final verdict? I’m not mad about the purchase. I’m definitely going to keep wearing it even though it has its flaws but what matte liquid lipstick doesn’t? It’s goes for a little cheaper than most other high end liquid lipsticks on the market so I’d say it’s worth your money.


Ratings

Application: 8/10
Longevity: 9/10
Effectiveness: 8/10
Price: $18
Repurchase: Maybe
Overall: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

