Not Your Mother’s Dry Shampoo

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetOk, to be totally honest, I don’t really use dry shampoo to its fullest potential.
Meaning I actually wash my hair literally every single night.

I know, it’s “not good for my hair”, but my hair gets super nasty if I don’t at least give it a rinse. I don’t always use shampoo but I can’t just tuck it up into a shower cap either. All that talk about “day 2 hair” or “day 3 hair”….yeah, I can’t relate.

BUT! My hair does get kinda oily like halfway through the day. Mostly just the front area and towards the middle a bit. I hate, ABSOLUTELY HATE, the feeling of greasy hair. Can’t stand it at all. Especially if I have to go somewhere after work and still look kinda presentable. I just feel disgusting with greasy feeling hair all up in my face. I know some people don’t mind it but I’m not one of those people.

I used to try to just brush out my hair to make it feel better. It works ok but after a couple minutes, it’s back to how it was before.

I debated whether or not I wanted to buy dry shampoo for the longest time since I wouldn’t really be using it like regularly (now you know what I mean), but I was at CVS one day and just caved and bought it.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The first time I saw this brand was actually at Urban Outfitters. I was casually browsing their ever expanding section of cosmetics and beauty supplies when I stumbled upon this. The packaging is adorable. That alone made me want to buy it the first time around but I resisted. This time, I picked it up because it was the one most familiar to me. I’ve heard good things about Batiste’s dry shampoo too, but I wanted to give this one a try.

Now the one I have is scented, but it does come in an unscented version as well. It smells somewhere between fresh laundry and baby powder, with a little hint of pine. I don’t know…it’s difficult to pinpoint.

But does it work though?

YES. MOST DEFINITELY.
Maybe even a little too well.

Every time after I use it and shower that night, the areas where I sprayed are a bit more difficult to work with. They feel a bit stiff and don’t really want to be scrubbed by my fingers. I also learned the first time I tried this product that distance is everything. Meaning I would take the advice/directions written on the bottle and actually spray this stuff in from a certain distance if you don’t want the white-ish residue to show up in your hair. I know that’s the case for many dry shampoos out there but for some of them, the white will disappear after a little bit. Not Your Mother’s tends to linger for longer than I would like. Brushing out the product helps but like I said before, once this product is in, your hair might feel a bit stiff.

Other than those complaints, this stuff works pretty well.

My hair feels less like an oil spill and more like actual hair after a few good spritzes. I usually like to start off at the front parts of my hair, pulling it back a little so I don’t get any on my face then going on and concentrating it on my roots. I lift that section of my hair up and spray it upwards to get some volume and freshness all at the same time.

Let me know if you have any tips and tricks when it comes to dry shampoo and/or your favorite, go-to brand! Definitely want to try something new after I use this one up (might take a while though haha).


Ratings

Application: 10/10
Longevity: 10/10 (well, for the way I use it)
Effectiveness: 9/10
Price: $5-6
Repurchase: Probably not
Overall: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

