Urban Decay’s De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My face produces oil like a freakin’ gas station, I kid you not.
Like most people only really need one blotting sheet to get the excess oil off but I legit need 2, sometimes 3.

And every sheet will be 100% used.

In my desperate attempt to find a product that would make my face less of an oil spill, I came across SEVERAL positive reviews for Urban Decay’s De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray, and since my boyfriend had a $100 gift card to Macy’s at the time (courtesy of his grandma), he bought it for me while we were in NYC about 2 years ago. 

First of all, let me start by saying that this stuff doesn’t come cheap.

At $31 a bottle, you really have to use this stuff sparingly. For me, I don’t normally use this as apart of my every day makeup routine since I usually don’t care who sees me lookin’ like a mess at work. I use this only when there’s a special occasion and I need my face to stay on for LONG hours.

But it’s definitely worth the price you pay since this stuff works like magic.

The most recent time I had this on was when I went to my friend’s wedding a few weeks ago. I even spritzed some on my friend’s face after doing her makeup. We danced literally the whole night on a crowded dance floor in group huddles and moved around so much but our makeup didn’t budge at all. Yes, I still got a little bit shiny but compared to what I would’ve looked like if I didn’t spray my face with this setting spray, it was infinitely better. My friend, who doesn’t really get oily at all, had all of her makeup perfectly intact as well, and she had on a full face of makeup too (contour, highlight, the works).

But the best incidence of how effective this setting spray is would probably have to be the time I used it for my college graduation. That year, my college decided to be fancy and hold their school-wide commencement ceremony at a major league baseball stadium. But that day was HOT.

Like I’m talkin’ pushing 100 degrees hot. And if you know anything about east coast weather, not only does it get hot but it gets humid. And I was not about to sit under the blazing hot sun, in a navy graduation robe, in a hot baseball stadium, listening to speech after speech, with my makeup literally melting off my face. So obviously I applied this setting spray as apart of my makeup routine that morning and it did it’s magic like it does every time. Despite a little bit of a shine, nothing moved and the oil could be blotted away with a quick dab. Even though the rest of me was sweating like I was in a sauna, my makeup still looked pretty ok. At least enough for it to not show up on pictures later haha.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The bottle itself is plastic and has a matte finish of its own. The nozzle, for some reason, is actually double capped, with a smaller white one directly over the nozzle and the larger gray one over that.

I would have to say though, this product isn’t totally 100% perfect, even though it does a pretty good job at living up to its name.

For one, the product doesn’t always fully come out of the bottle during the initial sprays. It takes like 1 or 2 pumps for it to work normally. And I found myself having to spritz a good amount over my face for it to really work, rather than the 2-3 times it says on the back. This setting spray also tends to break me out a little bit. Every time after I use it, I always manage to get at least one pimple so I try to take off my makeup as soon as I can after wearing this. I’m guessing it has something to do with how it make my makeup cling onto my face so consequently, it clings a little too well and clogs my pores a bit.

But all in all, this setting spray saves me from lookin’ like a disaster on big nights. Despite the steep price and the minor set backs on it, it’s definitely worth the splurge for anyone who’s looking for something that’ll keep their makeup from lookin’ like you just went on a slip n slide.


Ratings 

Application: 9/10
Longevity: 8.5/10
Effectiveness: 9/10
Price: $31
Repurchase: Maybe
Overall: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

